Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Discussion, news and views on bars, restaurants, gigs, parties and relationships in Cambodia. Bar owners can advertise events for free here.

Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Postby Savittre » Sun Dec 10, 2017 5:56 pm

Hi All, hope I posted this in the right forum!


Location is OK. Lots of restaurants. Mick and Craig’s restaurant is OK, but if you take a walk down the short street (Serendipity) from the Golden Lion to the beach at dinner time, you’ll see restaurants that are *packed* with people, whereas Mick and Craig’s usually only have around half a dozen. Why would that be?

I booked $283.50 USD for 30 nights, 23/9~23/10- Budget Double room. About 26/9, Kim, the Caucasian woman who works with Jason there, asked me to lend them $500 USD. I did that. Then I had a problem- I couldn’t get money from the ABM. I told Jason this, he said, “You already owe us money.” I had $1 in my wallet and nothing in my stomach. I sorted the bank out, then Jason and Kim wanted me out with 1 day notice, which shrank to 10 hours. They said they “don’t like people to stay there too long.” What hotel makes money with a business model like that?

Furthermore, Jason said high season is here so they’re going to be raising their room rates. I was not offered the option of paying the higher rate.

I took a nap, and Kim barged into my room- I called out that I was naked, that didn’t stop her, she barged in to remind me I had to go. Very offensive, classless behavior. What hotel manager does that?

As I was leaving, Jason claimed I owed $125 USD more. No invoice presented. Totaling the money, ($625 from me minus their $283.50), $341.50 is what I reckon I got took for.

Jason told me he knew a great place, peaceful, quiet, etc., and he would take me there. I was grateful for this. He took me directly to the Red Light district. Quiet there? No. The music pounded until around 4:00 am~4:30 am.

The Budget Double room at Mick and Craig’s is very small- Barely enough room to unpack, almost too small for 1 person.

No TV, nor air-con.

This place does not give value for money, IMHO.

Not recommended!
Savittre
5 minutes to kill
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 2:03 pm

Re: Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Postby gavinmac » Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:09 pm

Savittre wrote:Hi All, hope I posted this in the right forum!


Location is OK. Lots of restaurants. Mick and Craig’s restaurant is OK, but if you take a walk down the short street (Serendipity) from the Golden Lion to the beach at dinner time, you’ll see restaurants that are *packed* with people, whereas Mick and Craig’s usually only have around half a dozen. Why would that be?

I booked $283.50 USD for 30 nights, 23/9~23/10- Budget Double room. About 26/9, Kim, the Caucasian woman who works with Jason there, asked me to lend them $500 USD. I did that. Then I had a problem- I couldn’t get money from the ABM. I told Jason this, he said, “You already owe us money.” I had $1 in my wallet and nothing in my stomach. I sorted the bank out, then Jason and Kim wanted me out with 1 day notice, which shrank to 10 hours. They said they “don’t like people to stay there too long.” What hotel makes money with a business model like that?

Furthermore, Jason said high season is here so they’re going to be raising their room rates. I was not offered the option of paying the higher rate.

I took a nap, and Kim barged into my room- I called out that I was naked, that didn’t stop her, she barged in to remind me I had to go. Very offensive, classless behavior. What hotel manager does that?

As I was leaving, Jason claimed I owed $125 USD more. No invoice presented. Totaling the money, ($625 from me minus their $283.50), $341.50 is what I reckon I got took for.

Jason told me he knew a great place, peaceful, quiet, etc., and he would take me there. I was grateful for this. He took me directly to the Red Light district. Quiet there? No. The music pounded until around 4:00 am~4:30 am.

The Budget Double room at Mick and Craig’s is very small- Barely enough room to unpack, almost too small for 1 person.

No TV, nor air-con.

This place does not give value for money, IMHO.

Not recommended!


Oh, this is definitely the right forum.

1. Why did you "loan" your hotelier $500 when you only had $501?

2. Why did you pay the $125, if you had already given them $500 for a $283 room? You really should say no to people who demand money from you without good reason.

3. You checked in on 23/9. On what day did they throw you out?
Follow my lame Twitter feed: @gavin_mac
User avatar
gavinmac
Making Khmer girls cry since 2003
 
Posts: 20454
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 10:15 pm

Re: Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Postby gavinmac » Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:13 pm

The OP also posted this complaint on TripAdvisor. Mick and Craig's responded:

CraigSihanoukville, General Manager at Mick and Craig's Guesthouse, responded to this review
Responded 2 days ago
Warner

This is absoloutley not true. You Paid your bill Which was $500. We had tried everything possible to help you and even fed you free of charge on the night you had no money. When Kim entered your room she was checking to see if you was OK as the cleaning staff were very concerned as they had found a lot of boxes of Valium and Pharmaceutical drugs. We also had internet issues during your stay and had a professional come to check our equipment. The source was found to becoming from your room as our internet connects to each IP address which suggested that there was illegal content being viewed or downloaded. All receipts were presented to you on check out. I myself even went to the extra length to find you alternative accommodation

Jason
Follow my lame Twitter feed: @gavin_mac
User avatar
gavinmac
Making Khmer girls cry since 2003
 
Posts: 20454
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 10:15 pm

Re: Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Postby Mèo Đen » Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:21 pm

gavinmac wrote:Oh, this is definitely the right forum.

1. Why did you "loan" your hotelier $500 when you only had $501?

2. Why did you pay the $125, if you had already given them $500 for a $283 room? You really should say no to people who demand money from you without good reason.

3. You checked in on 23/9. On what day did they throw you out?


The article was posted on Trip Advisor ..below is their reply:

CraigSihanoukville, General Manager at Mick and Craig's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Warner

This is absoloutley not true. You Paid your bill Which was $500. We had tried everything possible to help you and even fed you free of charge on the night you had no money. When Kim entered your room she was checking to see if you was OK as the cleaning staff were very concerned as they had found a lot of boxes of Valium and Pharmaceutical drugs. We also had internet issues during your stay and had a professional come to check our equipment. The source was found to becoming from your room as our internet connects to each IP address which suggested that there was illegal content being viewed or downloaded. All receipts were presented to you on check out. I myself even went to the extra length to find you alternative accommodation

Jason
https://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g325573-d605780-Reviews-Mick_and_Craig_s_Guesthouse-Sihanoukville_Sihanoukville_Province.html
User avatar
Mèo Đen
I Can Haz Catz ?
 
Posts: 3465
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 5:37 pm

Re: Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Postby Phuket2006 » Sun Dec 10, 2017 7:38 pm

dam internet, just cant tell a good lie anymore
"We are turning into a nation of whimpering slaves to Fear—fear of war, fear of poverty, fear of random terrorism, or suddenly getting locked up in a military detention camp on vague charges of being a Terrorist sympathizer." HST
User avatar
Phuket2006
The Internet is my Friend
 
Posts: 6360
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 7:00 am

Re: Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Postby Edwardo » Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:25 pm

They lost me at the "I lent the hotel owner $500" part. Nothing makes any sense after that.

Running a budget guesthouse has to be one of the worst jobs ever.
Last edited by Edwardo on Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"The final straw actually involved my mortal enemy vladimir, who you may or may not know is an insufferable, overposting asshat."
User avatar
Edwardo
Wibble Wibble ?!?
 
Posts: 1764
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 8:50 pm

Re: Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Postby gavinmac » Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:31 pm

Edwardo wrote:They lost me at the "I lent the hotel owner $500" part. Nothing makes any sense after that.


Maybe what dummy meant is "I paid my bill a few weeks in advance" = loan.

Does anyone believe that a $9 a night guesthouse in Sihanoukville has an internet setup such that it can track the traffic from each room individually? And did they bill him $125 for crashing their system by downloading virus-filled bestiality porn?
Follow my lame Twitter feed: @gavin_mac
User avatar
gavinmac
Making Khmer girls cry since 2003
 
Posts: 20454
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 10:15 pm

Re: Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Postby Edwardo » Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:54 pm

The Mick & Craig's Guesthouse website is a bit wonky. I tried to see what they quote for a 30 day stay, but their reservations calendar only goes to year 2016.

Booking.com quoted me $216 for the 30 days of May 2018, with the price of $263 crossed out (probably the high season price). I didn't see any mention of "price per person based on double occupancy", but I imagine that is where the confusion lies. The OP thought he would get a double room by himself for that price but the default reservations setting is 2 adults? Just my guess.
Last edited by Edwardo on Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.
"The final straw actually involved my mortal enemy vladimir, who you may or may not know is an insufferable, overposting asshat."
User avatar
Edwardo
Wibble Wibble ?!?
 
Posts: 1764
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 8:50 pm

Re: Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Postby logos » Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:05 pm

Does anyone believe that a $9 a night guesthouse in Sihanoukville has an internet setup such that it can track the traffic from each room individually?

Actually it's not difficult nor expensive to determine exactly which device downloads what quantity. But you can't actually see what was downloaded with such a setup.
User avatar
logos
WankPoodle
 
Posts: 6432
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 9:45 am

Re: Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Postby Lucky Lucan » Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:00 am

We also had internet issues during your stay and had a professional come to check our equipment. The source was found to becoming from your room as our internet connects to each IP address which suggested that there was illegal content being viewed or downloaded.


It seems this story has more than one side. However, while I would never claim to be an expert on internet-related stuff, the above sounds like a crock of shit.
Romantic Cambodia is dead and gone. It's with McKinley in the grave.
User avatar
Lucky Lucan
K440 Knight Captain
 
Posts: 18926
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:24 pm
Location: The Pearl of the Orient

Re: Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Postby epidemiks » Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:17 am

"which suggested that there was illegal content being viewed or downloaded"

It suggests only that Mick and Craig are trying to discredit a bad review by associating the reviewer with illegal activities and drug abuse.
User avatar
epidemiks
I Love 440 More Than Real Life
 
Posts: 2886
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:40 pm

Re: Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Postby gavinmac » Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:43 am

epidemiks wrote:
It suggests only that Mick and Craig are trying to discredit a bad review by associating the reviewer with illegal activities and drug abuse.


If you rent a cheap room to a guy in Sihanoukville for a month, illegal activities and drug abuse are presumed.
Last edited by gavinmac on Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
Follow my lame Twitter feed: @gavin_mac
User avatar
gavinmac
Making Khmer girls cry since 2003
 
Posts: 20454
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 10:15 pm

Re: Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Postby Kachang » Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:35 am

Lucky Lucan wrote:
We also had internet issues during your stay and had a professional come to check our equipment. The source was found to becoming from your room as our internet connects to each IP address which suggested that there was illegal content being viewed or downloaded.


It seems this story has more than one side. However, while I would never claim to be an expert on internet-related stuff, the above sounds like a crock of shit.


It is a crock of shit. He's just throwing around a few words hoping people will take it for granted, but it has no meaning at all.
User avatar
Kachang
Wibble Wibble ?!?
 
Posts: 1751
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 9:04 am

Re: Mick and Craig’s Sihanoukville Bad Experience :(

Postby LaudJohn » Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:00 pm

The Mexican meal on Tuesday's at Mick (RIP) and Craig's is great value!
Note to self: Must be nice to morons.
LaudJohn
Feminist Watch List
 
Posts: 5552
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 8:56 pm
Location: Paradise sur Mer; aka Sihanoukville


Return to Lifestyle




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests